If It Ain’t Broke Don’t Fix It

I had a minor, and by minor I might mean MAJOR, freak out moment the other night. I was laying in bed thinking about my upcoming trip to South Carolina this weekend and wondering if I was really ready to run 13.1 miles on Sunday.  Then came the stress dreams of not being able to finish the race or being totally unprepared for my Full Marathon come January.

Recently I have two new gym buddies, Lex who like me works out pretty avidly and Brock who is new to the game and I’m helping. I have been taking my usual spinning classes and added Zumba back to my routine again with an extra toning class on Tuesdays so that my strength can come back.

Working out with these two has shown me that everyone is different and has their own ways or measuring progress. I thought about it more and realized that this will not be the first half marathon I’ve completed on little miles logged, and I can rely on my cross training, endurance and whole lot of KT tape to get me through.

After talking myself of the ledge on my “unpreparedness” I thought about everything I have been doing to prep for this race and I think I’m as ready as I ever could have been given my schedule the last few months.

Life happens but that doesn’t mean that you need to doubt yourself or your training. So if your training has worked for you in the past there is no reason to suggest that it wouldn’t work now. Moral being “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” … unless you are my brake light which I did have to fix in the parking lot of the gym. That counts as a warm up right?img_4568

Leave a Reply

