Getting Ready For A New Challenge

I decided that 2017 would be the year … the year for me to take on my first, and probably only, full marathon. I figured I would do my first full the same way I did my first half … In Disney!

Since I plan on this being my only full the slogan “go big or go home” kept running through my head. I’ve always said I wanted to do the Dopey Challenge in Disney and this year I figured why the hell not?!

FullSizeRender

My thoughts exactly Woody!

At the end of this month I will be singing up for the Dopey Challenge, a 5K, 10K, Half and Full over four days. And now that I’ve put it out there on the internet there is no turning back  because the internet is forever you know! I know my limits and know that my body might not be able to handle a full so I’ve decided the best way for me to take on 26.2 miles is by using the Walk/Run method.

I’m glad I have friends that are as crazy as I am and agreed to do this challenge with me.*cue my thank you to Dawn and Alex* It’s not the first three days of running that I’m worried about – that will be easy it’s the fourth day that makes me nervous. According to my wonderful Jeff Galloway print off training schedule I don’t have to start until end of June beginning of July. Which is perfect because it gives me time to focus on my next half.

IMG_3044

Hello Pittsburgh skyline! #GameOnPGH I can’t wait to run through the streets of my city again, for those of you keeping score I PR’d here last year and was hoping after my disappointing performance in Sarasota to try again. Mother Nature however must have other plans lately here it’s been snowing – yes snowing in April or it’s looked like this,

IMG_3039

So I’ve been relying heavily on cross training again and hoping this time my body will hold up! I have been still experiencing some hip pain but after this half I plan on getting my body fully rested for the beating it will take over the next 6 months.

 

Wish me luck and Happy Running to you all ! 

Leave a comment