Just A Simple Walk on the Beach

I’m very lucky to have my parents live where they do. It makes quick weekend getaways super easy and cheap!  But it also gives my workout a boost allowing my to try out new things and keeps me super motivated.

I have given it a try many times and I know people are going to hate me for saying this but running on the beach is something I can’t get into no matter how hard I try. The sand getting in my shoes and finding just the right spot is taxing when you just want to run. However I will never say no to a walk on the beach.

IMG_2501

The sun was super deceiving, I put on my shorts so I could get as close to the water as I wanted, my parents looked at me like I was high on bath salts. They warned me I would be cold and it would be really windy down by the water.  I’m from Pittsburgh, I left 23 degree weather to come down here I’ll be fine …. or so I thought.

SPOILER ALERT – it was windy – it  was cold and it made walking in shorts and flip flops almost unbearable.

IMG_2506

I appologize for the pastey pale legs – it’s been a long time since they have seen the sun clearly.

I managed to get two miles in thanks to my Dad. Everytime I wanted to turn around he would just challenge me and say no lets go just a little further. Knowing that he would stay beside me and push me to keep going was just waht I needed to get my miles in.

Sitting in the airport now waiting to go home it really hits home how lucky I am not only to have my parents live where they live but how lucky I am to have them be who they are.

They have always been my biggest supporters and cheerleaders pushing me to the next level. So heres to you Mom and Dad – I’ll see you soon – Love you both!

 

 

Leave a Reply

