21 Day Fix – And Skinny Shaming

“You’re so skinny why do you need to go on a diet?”

“You don’t need to watch what you eat – you need to eat a cheeseburger”

“Why are you wasting your time on this 21 Day Fix? What’s the point?”

Now if those aren’t words of encouragement I don’t now what is – KIDDING PEOPLE!!! I am all about loving your body for what it is and I’m a big believer in every woman is beautiful no matter what the size! HOWEVER just because I choose to take care of my body and want to challenge myself you don’t get to SKINNY SHAME me!

Just like a woman who is hurt by people calling her names because she is a bigger size I feel hurt when people tell me I’m too skinny or don’t need to work out. I don’t want to be “skinny” I want to be fit! I consider myself fit not skinny. So it hurts when people tell me “oh your so skinny” I just want to yell  – I’M ATHLETIC NOT SKINNY!

Granted everyone has their reasons for wanting to work our or take on the challenge that certain programs bring for me I chose to do the 21 Day Fix Extreme again.  I have done the 21 Day Fix before and fell in love with the way it made me feel. I love the results and I feel great when I’m on the program. My best friend who I’ve talked about before is also doing the program with me and we are doing our best to keep each other motivated and on target! It times out perfectly that I’ll be ending the program the weekend of my trip to New Jersey to see her and the weekend of our Half Marathon.

Ironically in my last post I talked about the risk of injury when you don’t train and in my last race I ended up rolling my ankle. Not an injury due to lack of training but a rock took me out on the trail run none the less. Needless to say an ankle the size of a softball put a two week damper on my training for my next half (which is in three weeks FYI) so I need something to kick start my body back into half marathon shape.

Believe me I’ve noticed a difference in my body after those two weeks – so I’ve decided to silence the Skinny Shamers and show I’m not SKINNY everyone has flaws! I LOVE MY FLAWS because they motivate me to try to improve! So here are my before 21 Day Fix Pictures. I’ll post an update every week to show you my progress and hopefully motivate you do to something out of your comfort zone!

IMG_5538 IMG_5539 IMG_5540

Still I have had people ask me if the 21 Day Fix really works or better yet tell me I’m crazy I don’t need to go on a diet. I know I don’t NEED to and IT’S NOT A DIET. It’s a lifestyle of eating what you body really needs now what you are craving. It’s a lifestyle of motivation to make yourself better and challenger yourself. It’s a lifestyle of planning your workouts and making a new routine!

To keep me accountable here is what I did yesterday for my first day of 21 Day Fix Extreme.

Breakfast – Protein shake

Snack 1 – Hummus and Triscuits

Lunch – Grilled Chicken Salad Italian Dressing

Snack 2 – Steamed Frozen Vegetables

Dinner – Pork and Steamed Rice

Snack 3 – Apple and Peanut Butter

Work out – Plyo 21 Day Fix

Leave a Reply

