Finding Your Motivation

Motivation – It’s something everyone needs to have in order to reach their goals. My motivation was never hard to find because she was my biggest supporter and my rock. My motivation was always my Grandmother, the strongest person I knew. She never cared what people thought of her and any spare minute she had she spent bragging about her grandkids. I went to her for everything, advice, to laugh, dinner or my favorite just to hang out. Her constant admiration made me always strive to be better to make her proud.

This will probably be the hardest post I ever had to write – the day I lost my best friend and greatest motivator.

One morning in March I was on my way to work when my mom calls me and said she was having trouble getting a hold of my Gram, which was unusual, so I stopped by to see if everything was okay. My newly made key for her door wouldn’t work and I knew something was wrong when she didn’t answer the door. After rallying her neighbor to help me break in while we waited for the police we got in and I found her lying on her floor. Now first thing out of her mouth when I found her was, How’s your brother? (he had his own little stint in the hospital that week too). She was talking with me like nothing was wrong expect for the fact that she was just laying on the floor not able to move – I also get my stubbornness from her too. The ambulance came and took her to the hospital and I went to work thinking it was just a quick fix with her pacemaker. Then I got the call.

My mom – who is very level headed and I’ve never seen upset a day in my 25 years of living – called me in a panic. She told me that the doctors told her it was bad, they weren’t sure I was going to make it to the hospital to see her in time because she had cancer. CANCER?! My grandmother had heart problems not cancer – or so that’s what we all thought.  My mind was racing as I flew to the hospital never in a million years did I think this is how I would lose my best friend. What if I don’t make it? I had so many things I still needed her here with me for. She can’t leave me yet.

Luckily I made it to the hospital in time and spent the next 12 hours with my best friend cracking jokes, telling her how much I loved her and how much she meant to me. I always knew she was strong but it wasn’t until that day I realized just how strong she was. The doctors explained to us the cancer had spread through out her entire body, they believe it started as breast cancer, went to her bones and from there went to her brain which caused her to pass out. As I walked back in her room thinking of all the times we would pry information out of her about her back hurting or her legs were bothering her I never realized how much worse it was than the “old age aches” as she called them. I sat with her for the rest of the night just talking with her about everything from Andrew McCutchen’s new hair cut to when I was going to find a nice guy. When I left her that night so she could relax and not feel the pressure to fight anymore if she didn’t want to – I told you she was stubborn – I told her “I love you old woman,  you’re my favorite”. It was our thing we would always say to each other.

My Grandmother passed away at 4 am the next morning- peacefully – just like she would have wanted but from something none of us saw coming.

She was my strength, hero, role model my everything. So now I run for more of a reason than I ever have before I run for her, because her strength is in me, always has been always will be.

This year will be my third year running the Lemiuex 6.6K and it will be my first year running for Team Lemiuex. I am fundraising for The Pittsburgh Penguins Foundation and The Mario Lemieux Foundation. They help support cancer research and help aid families with a loved one suffering from this terrible disease.

If you would like to donate to my fundraising efforts every penny helps and could help change a life. I appreciate it all – the link below will take you to my fundraising page.

Help me and this hockey legend raise the money to help defeat cancer.

1609896_10153823897125133_1427619477_n

My motivation – running for those who can’t and helping kick cancers ass!

22763_388754670132_3014475_n

Leave a Reply

